Protostar Formation – Infographic

Infographic of the formation of protostars. Based on An Introduction to Modern Astrophysics by Carrol and Ostlie.

Infographic of the formation of protostars. Based on An Introduction to Modern Astrophysics by Carrol and Ostlie.

Took me a while to do that. I hope that you like what I did.

In some respects, I am not happy. I wanted to fit much, much more info. But I saw very soon that that was not going to be possible, at least in the way in which I originally conceived the infographic.

Adding more information without cluttering up too much would surely ask for a change in format. I tried to keep it as simple as possible.

In addition, my original idea was quite different from this. I had in mind something more hand made, more organic. However I also wanted to try Illustrator out, which gives a different feeling. At least in my hands.

Only one explanation is pertinent:

I used the greek letter Tau to represent optical depth, which is a measure of opacity (see also Stellar Atmospheres).

Other symbols are more obvious. L stands for luminosity, T is temperature, D is deuterium, H is hydrogen.

If you are looking at this, I’d truly appreciate your opinion about the infographic.

Cheers!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Protostar Formation – Infographic

  1. Pingback: Protostar formation – mindmap | The Quantum Red Pill Blog

Leave a Reply

